Four Spartans Named All-Conference in Cross Country

Four Spartans Named All-Conference in Cross Country

Junior Aidan Russell was named to the All-Conference First Team in men's cross country for his performance at the East Coast Conference Championships on Saturday. Juniors trio Rebecca MacLeod, Aida Torpey and Laura Herbes were name to the All-Conference Second Team.

Russell, a first time All-Conference selection, transferred to St. Thomas Aquinas in 2017.  Following an injury plagued sophmore year, Russell has been a key element to the Spartans success in 2018.  At the conference Championship, Russell recorded a personal best 26:26 and finished in 6th place.

Men's Cross Country All-Conference First Team

Noah Simatei, NYIT-25:48.9
Christopher Sims, Roberts Wesleyan-26:08.2
Josiah Ottolini, Roberts Wesleyan-26:19.0
Shane Pease, Roberts Wesleyan-26:20.9
Nathan Cannon, Roberts Wesleyan-26:21.7
Aidan Russell, St. Thomas Aquinas-26:26.3
Anthony Casullo, Roberts Wesleyan-26:34.3

Men's Cross Country All-Conference Second Team

James Betts, Roberts Wesleyan-26:45.6
Michael Swiniarski, Daemen-26:48.2
Tyler Lipina, Roberts Wesleyan-26:53.8
Benjamin Matz, Roberts Wesleyan-26:57.5
Connor Demo, Roberts Wesleyan-26:59.5
Bryan Forino, Roberts Wesleyan-27:09.8
Brian Michels, Molloy-27:11.8

MacLeod, is no stranger to the All-Conference team as she was also a recipient in 2017.  A vocal leader of the team, MacLeod was in the Spartans top three in every race this season.  She was the first finisher at the ECC Championship coming in at 20:04 and in 10th place.

Torpey earned her third All-Conference Award in three seasons of cross country.  She has been a two-time All-Region award recipient and was named the 2018 ECC Preseason Runner of the Year.  Torpey finished in 11th place with a time of 20:06 at the ECC Championship.

Herbes, a first time All-Conference honoree, ran her first cross country season as a Spartan.  She ran a personal best 20:04 at the NJIT Highlander Technology Challenge.  Herbes has been a steady scorer for the Spartans.  At the ECC Championship she crossed the line in 20:15 which was good for 14th place.

Women's Cross Country All-Conference First Team

Ashley Watson, Roberts Wesleyan-19:02.3
Brittany Shumway, Roberts Wesleyan-19:05.6
Abigail Gostomski, Roberts Wesleyan-19:18.4
Bailey Gostomski, Roberts Wesleyan-19:18.7 
Michaela Bierly, Roberts Wesleyan-19:20.5 
Erin Graham, Roberts Wesleyan-19:21.8 
Moriah Martone, Roberts Wesleyan-19:25.3  

Women's Cross Country All-Conference Second Team

Katie Bellomo, Roberts Wesleyan-19:56.2
Irene Chepteling, NYIT-20:00.4
Rebecca MacLeod, St. Thomas Aquinas-20:04.1
Aida Torpey, St. Thomas Aquinas-20:06.2
Margaret McKeever, LIU Post-20:06.8
Tiffany Adames, Roberts Wesleyan-20:11.6
Laura Herbes, St. Thomas Aquinas-20:15.1