Thorne and Larsson Take Home Field Hockey All-Conference Honors

Thorne and Larsson Take Home Field Hockey All-Conference Honors

On Wednesday afternoon, the Northeast-10 Conference released its 2019 Field Hockey All-Conference honors. Spartans Briannah Thorne and Lisa Larsson were recognized with Second Team and All-Rookie Team selections respectively.

Thorne, the senior from Napier, New Zealand, registered 12 goals and 1 assist, for a team-leading 25 points in 18 regular season contests. Briannah's 12 goals and 55 shots taken (37 on goal) were tops on the squad this season.

Meanwhile, Larsson, the freshman from Los Altos, California, was second on the team in scoring with 17 points (7 goals & 3 assists) in 18 regular season games. Lisa's 41 shots (28 on goal) were also just behind teammate Thorne on the stat sheet.

The Spartan Field Hockey team has recorded their best season in program history to date, which continues in the postseason. The 2019 squad went 9-9 overall and 7-7 within the Northeast-10 Conference during the regular season. St. Thomas Aquinas also captured their first-ever playoff victory, a 2-1 double overtime win over Adelphi University on Tuesday evening in the NE-10 Field Hockey Championship Tournament Quarterfinals.

#7 seed St. Thomas Aquinas (10-9, 7-7 NE-10) will now advance in the Northeast-10 Conference Tournament. The Spartans semifinal opponent will be the 3-seeded Southern New Hampshire University Penmen (16-3, 12-2 NE-10). The playoff match-up will take place on Friday, November 8th at 6pm at Larkin Field in Manchester, NH. During regular season play, the Penmen defeated the Spartans by a score of 2-1 in overtime at SNHU on October 12th.


Northeast-10 Field Hockey All-Conference Awards

Player of the Year
Laura van der Doorn, Southern N.H. 

Defensive Player of the Year
Anna Drakeley, Saint Anselm 

Goalkeeper of the Year
Julia Hand, Saint Anselm

Rookie of the Year
Lisa Hagel, Southern N.H.

Coach of the Year
Carolyn King-Robitaille, Saint Anselm 

First-Team All-Conference (13)*
Jackie Brown, Adelphi
Elissa Frein, Adelphi
Danielle Kempf, Adelphi
Deirdre Burchill, Assumption
Tess Anderson, Bentley
Rachel Crowley, Bentley
Anna Drakeley, Saint Anselm
Hannah Friend, Saint Anselm
Julia Hand, Saint Anselm
Lisa Hagel, Southern N.H.
Hélène Servais, Southern N.H.
Laura van der Doorn, Southern N.H.
Michaela Antonellis, Stonehill 

Second-Team All-Conference (12)
Katelynn Leclerc, American Int'l
Lucy Malia, Assumption
Courtney Sickel, Assumption
Summer Walsh, Assumption
Mia Lennon, Pace
Kaeleigh Lord, Saint Anselm
Carly LaCasse, Saint Anselm
Jenna Puleo, Saint Michael's
Briannah Thorne, St. Thomas Aquinas
Brianna Craft, Southern Conn. St.
Katie Lammando, Stonehill
Sophie Schreck, Stonehill

Third-Team All-Conference (12)
Bianca Bachisin, Adelphi
Alexandra Docyk, Adelphi
Chelsea Davis, American Int'l
Sam Simione, Bentley
Julianne Sacco, Franklin Pierce
Jessica Strassburg, Franklin Pierce
Feline van Doorn, Franklin Pierce
Taylor Geaglone, New Haven
Natalie Shaker, New Haven
Emily Campbell, Southern N.H.
Melanie Rennie, Southern N.H.
Emma Mawn, Stonehill

All-Rookie Team (12)
Bianca Bachisin, Adelphi
Giana McKeough, Adelphi
Nikki Bates, American Int'l
Kirstin Snethlage, American Int'l
Meghan Winn, Franklin Pierce
Alyssa Sacco, Mercy
Jessica Wolfe, Pace
Maeve Murphy, Saint Anselm
Lisa Larsson, St. Thomas Aquinas
Lisa Hagel, Southern N.H.
Andrea Caradonna, Stonehill
Mackenzie Quigley, Stonehill